Input Your
Use
Library Materials & Services Value of
Your Use



$
Library Card Value Calculator

A return on your investment!

We know you value the services and resources provided by the Riverside Public Library. Use the "Return on Investment Matrix" to calculate just how much these services are worth.

This tool comes courtesy of the American Library Association and was created by the Massachusetts Library Association.
Adults - To register for a card please bring a valid driver's license or state ID with your current Riverside address. If the address on your ID is not current, bring in a current utility bill, bank statement, mortgage, lease, or tax bill.

Youth and teens under 18
- A parent or guardian with valid identification is needed to get a card for youth and teens under 18. The parent or guardian is responsible for any material taken out on a youth card.

Hold and overdue notices
- You can receive your hold and overdue notices via email, text, or automated phone call. If you are interested in changing your preference, please contact the Patron Services desk at patronservices@riversidelibrary.org

Renewals
  • Resident library cards are valid for 2 years.
  • Riverside Lawn/business or property holder library cards are valid for 1 year.
  • Cards can be renewed using a valid driver's license or state ID.
Notify the Library if:
  • Your card is lost or stolen card. Any material checked out on a card up to the time it is reported lost or stolen is the responsibility of the card holder.
  • You have a change in address, name, telephone number or email address.
Non-resident owners of a taxable Riverside business or property
  • Apply for a card by presenting proper identification and a current tax bill or a letter on business stationery requesting such service and signed by a business owner or officer.
  • Only one card may be issued to a property or business owner.
Cardholders from other libraries in Illinois
  • Patrons within the SWAN library network can check out materials using their local library card.
  • Patrons outside of the SWAN library network may need to have their card registered into the SWAN database.
  • Some restrictions of services may apply.
Getting a Library Card

Library cards are free to Riverside residents. Your Riverside library card can be used at all public libraries in Illinois. Additional registration may be required.
Non-resident library cards
People who live in an unincorporated area near Riverside (Riverside Lawn), who do not pay property taxes to the library, may purchase a library card annually that will give them full privileges at the Riverside Library. All members of a household can receive a card for a single fee. Illinois Public Act 92-0166 (Non-Resident Service) provides the rules and regulations through which non-residents may obtain a library card. Currently, the law states that non-residents must apply for a library card at the "closest public library."

Adults
- To register for a card please bring a valid driver's license or state ID with your current address. In addition, please bring in your lease or the second installment of your tax bill. To see the estimated cost of a Riverside Library card, use our Non-Resident Fee Form.

Youth and teens under 18
- A parent or guardian with valid Non-resident identification (state ID and lease of second installment of the tax bill) is needed to get a card for youth and teens under 18. The parent or guardian is responsible for any material taken out on a youth card.

Hold and overdue notices
- You can receive your hold and overdue notices via Email, Text, or Automated Phone Call. If you are interested in changing your preference, please contact the Patron Services Desk.

Renewals
Non-resident Library cards are valid for 1 year.
Items required for renewal:
Loan periods and limits:

Automatic renewals: what is it and how does it work?

Eligible items will renew automatically up to 2 times. You don't need to do a thing - it's automatic! This gives you more peace of mind and more time with your Library material.
  • Lucky Day books, Tech to Go equipment and devices (laptops, DVD players, HotSpots, etc.), Learning Kits and any material on hold for another patron are not eligible for renewal.
  • Two days before the due date, eligible items will automatically renew.
  • Digital collection items (ebooks, digital audiobooks, streaming movies and music) are not affected by this change and continue to 'return' automatically.
  • Patrons who have an email address listed on their account will get an email letting them know which items were automatically renewed.
  • Patrons can sign up for email notification by asking a staff member at the library, by phone during Library hours, and by contacting us at patronservices@riversidelibrary.org
  • Patrons can always check their due dates for all items using the "My Account" tab in the catalog and on our web site.
Click to view our loan rules

  • Non-residents may have their own limits or restrictions on some materials.
  • All material (with the exception of Lucky Day books, laptops, portable DVD players, mobile hotspots, and Roku payers) are allowed two renewals if there are no holds.
  • Items borrowed from us can be renewed through the online catalog, by phone, or in person at the Patron Services desk.
  • Vacation loans are available upon request.
Lost Item/Damaged Material Fines

  • The cost of the item plus a $5.00 processing fee will be charged for any lost/damaged material; $1.00 replacement charge for any lost/damaged audio-visual cases or bags; $5.00 damage fee for any oversized item returned in the book drop.

Please contact the Patron Services desk with questions regarding lending rules and restrictions at patronservices@riversidelibrary.org
Riverside Public Library
1 Burling Road, Riverside, IL 60546


Phone: 708-442-6366
Fax: 708-442-9462

Hours: 9-9 Monday - Thursday
            9-5 Friday & Saturday
            1-5 Sunday (Aug - May)